The Missing Book Review

It feels like I’ve been reading a lot of suspense and mystery novels lately and two of them have been set in Bristol: The Missing and Odd Child Out. Thankfully, all of them have been exciting and fun to read.

The Missing by C.L. Taylor is told from a mother’s perspective and it’s utterly heartbreaking. Claire’s fifteen year old son has gone missing six months ago and there are no clues as to where he went or if he was kidnapped or ran away. Is he dead? Is he sleeping rough somewhere? Someone has to know what happened to him, but the police are stumped, and Claire is starting to suspect her family.

The Missing
I received a free copy of The Missing in exchange for an honest review. You can buy your own copy at HarperCollins.

Claire is unreliable as a narrator because she keeps having blackouts and finding herself in strange places after being triggered by something that disturbed her deeply. Throughout my reading of the book, I suspected every single person, except for the person who it actually was.

This psychological thriller is a little long, but you’ll be sucked in from the first page. You feel so deeply for Claire and her husband and older son, while they deal with their youngest missing for six months. You don’t want to suspect any of them, but you can’t help but feel that something just isn’t quite right at home. No family is perfect, and something is deeply wrong in that house, but you just can’t put your finger on it until things are revealed near the end. The ending is a little rushed, especially after so much build up. It feels good to know what happened, but everything is cleared up very quickly.

If you’re looking for a good Christmas gift for an avid suspense reader, The Missing should be on your list.

About The Missing

• Paperback: 496 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (November 7, 2017)

The Missing has a delicious sense of foreboding from the first page, luring us into the heart of a family with terrible secrets and making us wait, with pounding hearts for the final, agonizing twist. Loved it.”—Fiona Barton, author of The Widow

A harrowing psychological thriller about a missing teenage boy whose mother must expose the secrets within their own family if she wants to find her son—perfect for fans of Reconstructing Amelia.

You love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire Wilkinson, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. But the Wilkinsons are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things—that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother’s instinct is never wrong. Or is it…?

Combining an unreliable narrator and fast-paced storytelling, The Missing is a chilling novel of psychological suspense that will thoroughly captivate and obsess readers.

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About C. L. Taylor

C. L. Taylor is a Sunday Times bestselling author. Her books have sold more than a million copies and have been translated into twenty-one languages. She lives in Bristol, England, with her partner and son.

Find out more about C. L. at her website, and connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Odd Child Out Book Review

Holy cow. This book. All of the intrigue and suspense.

Odd Child Out shifts perspectives very often, switching between Noah, DI Clemo, Sasha, and Maryam and Nur. DI Clemo’s portions are the only ones in first person, but seeing the story unfold from several different points somehow ups the intrigue. You still don’t know exactly what happened even though you’re getting a lot information from a police perspective, from the victim and his family, and from the suspect and his family.

Odd Child Out
I was given a free copy of Odd Child Out in exchange for an honest review. You can order a copy at HarperCollins.

Noah was found floating in a canal in Bristol and Abdi won’t talk about it. Noah is in a coma and can’t talk about it. No one knows what happened to these boys. DI Clemo is fresh off a leave of absence after a case that involved a kid and went horribly wrong. He and his partner need Abdi to tell them what happened, but Abdi seems like he’s in shock and like there’s also something else wrong with him. What did he see to send him into such a shock?

Hiddensee Book Review

I was lucky enough to see Wicked when I was in 7th grade and it was with the original cast in Chicago – except that night Elphaba was played by the understudy so I didn’t actually get to see Idina Menzel play her. But I did see Kristin Chenoweth play a dazzling Galinda! It was an amazing show that left me star struck. Everything was magical and the music still captures me.

So you can imagine why I’d immediately jump at the chance to review a book by William Morrow, the mind that made the world of Wicked before it was a world-wide renowned musical. Morrow is back with a new fantastical novel called Hiddensee, inspired by the timeless story of The Nutcracker. “Inspired by” is used loosely here. It’s not really a “holiday read” and it’s not the backstory of the Nutcracker or even close to the ballet with which most are familiar. It has more to do with Herr Drosselmeyer, the man who can make toys come to life.

Hiddensee
I was given a free copy of Hiddensee in exchange for an honest review. Get your own copy of the book at HarperCollins.

Readers might be disappointed if you’re expecting something as whimsical as the ballet or if you’re hoping to find Easter eggs about it in the story. Though if you’re completely unfamiliar with the ballet and the story of the Nutcracker and Clara, you can still enjoy this book. Prior knowledge of those stories is not a prerequisite for enjoying Hiddensee.

The imagery is particularly vivid – a particular skill of William Morrow’s, I think. It’s set in Germany in the early 19th Century and it reminds me of some Brother’s Grimm stories I read in a fairy tale course in college – I mean in tone, but they do make an appearance in the story. If you like German romanticism, you’ll probably like Hiddensee. If you don’t like German romanticism, it might be a little harder for you to appreciate it. The story can also run a little slow, so if you’re looking for a quick read to get you into the holiday spirit (sort of – German romanticism isn’t exactly…festive), then Hiddensee might not be for you.

But if you’re a person who loves fairy tales flipped on their head, you just might want to order a copy from HarperCollins.

About Hiddensee

• Hardcover: 304 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow (October 31, 2017)

From the author of the beloved #1 New York Times bestseller Wicked, the magical story of a toymaker, a nutcracker, and a legend remade . . .

Gregory Maguire returns with an inventive novel inspired by a timeless holiday legend, intertwining the story of the famous Nutcracker with the life of the mysterious toy maker named Drosselmeier who carves him.

Hiddensee: An island of white sandy beaches, salt marshes, steep cliffs, and pine forests north of Berlin in the Baltic Sea, an island that is an enchanting bohemian retreat and home to a large artists’ colony– a wellspring of inspiration for the Romantic imagination . . .

Having brought his legions of devoted readers to Oz in Wicked and to Wonderland in After Alice, Maguire now takes us to the realms of the Brothers Grimm and E. T. A. Hoffmann– the enchanted Black Forest of Bavaria and the salons of Munich. Hiddensee imagines the backstory of the Nutcracker, revealing how this entrancing creature came to be carved and how he guided an ailing girl named Klara through a dreamy paradise on a Christmas Eve. At the heart of Hoffmann’s mysterious tale hovers Godfather Drosselmeier– the ominous, canny, one-eyed toy maker made immortal by Petipa and Tchaikovsky’s fairy tale ballet– who presents the once and future Nutcracker to Klara, his goddaughter.

But Hiddensee is not just a retelling of a classic story. Maguire discovers in the flowering of German Romanticism ties to Hellenic mystery-cults– a fascination with death and the afterlife– and ponders a profound question: How can a person who is abused by life, shortchanged and challenged, nevertheless access secrets that benefit the disadvantaged and powerless? Ultimately, Hiddensee offers a message of hope. If the compromised Godfather Drosselmeier can bring an enchanted Nutcracker to a young girl in distress on a dark winter evening, perhaps everyone, however lonely or marginalized, has something precious to share.

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Gregory Maguire

Gregory Maguire is the New York Times bestselling author of Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister; Lost; Mirror Mirror; and the Wicked Years, a series that includes Wicked, Son of a Witch, A Lion Among Men, and Out of Oz. Now a beloved classic, Wicked is the basis for a blockbuster Tony Award–winning Broadway musical. Maguire has lectured on art, literature, and culture both at home and abroad. He lives with his family near Boston, Massachusetts.

Find out more about Maguire at his website and follow him on Facebook.